Welcome to OSFIN

Supervisory financial organisation

About us

A new supervisory organisation

The self-regulatory bodies OAD-FCT and OAR PolyReg have joined forces to create the supervisory organisation OSFIN. The creation of a new supervisory organisation at national level has occurred against the backdrop of the enactment of the new Swiss Federal Act on Financial Institutions [FinIA] and the Swiss Federal Act on Financial Services [FinSA]. OSFIN Organisation de surveillance financière obtained FINMA authorisation under the FinIA on 6 July 2020.

Ensuring continuity

The self-regulatory bodies PolyReg and OAD-FCT are already supervising, as self-regulatory bodies, around 1,300 financial intermediaries throughout Switzerland with regard to compliance with the provisions of the Swiss Anti-Money Laundering Act, around half of which are portfolio managers. With the creation of the OSFIN, it will be possible to ensure a smooth transition for portfolio managers and trustees over to the new supervisory structure. Financial intermediaries that are subject to the Swiss Anti-Money Laundering Act but not to the new provisions laid down by the FinIA et FinSA as financial institutions will however continue to be supervised by existing self-regulatory bodies.

The FinSA and the FinIA

The FinSA and the FinIA establish uniform competitive conditions for financial intermediaries and enhance protection for clients. The FinSA sets out the rules of conduct that financial service providers must comply with towards their clients. It also stipulates obligations concerning prospectuses and requires that a clearly understandable summary of the essential information be drawn up for financial instruments. As regards the FinIA, it essentially harmonises the rules governing authorisations for financial service providers

Portfolio managers and trustees

One consequence in particular of the FinSA and the FinIA is that portfolio managers and trustees must be authorised by FINMA and supervised by a supervisory organisation.

You can find documents and details concerning the new legislation on the FINMA website.

Authorisation

Portfolio managers and trustees must obtain authorisation from FINMA. The details are provide on its website.

Subjection to supervision by OSFIN

One of the conditions for authorisation is subjection to a supervisory organisation. Therefore, before they are able to submit an application for authorisation, portfolio managers and trustees must submit to supervision by a supervisory organisation such as OSFIN.

Transition periods

Transition periods are provided for under the FinSA and the FinIA. Their applicability is dependent on whether the portfolio manager or the trustee was already being supervised by a self-regulatory body before 1 January 2020.

News

News
August 12, 2022

FINMA guidance for portfolio managers and trustees: first measures with regard to late applications

The transitional period for licensing portfolio managers and trustees comes to an end in December 2022. In its guidance, the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA provides a first insight…
News
May 9, 2022

Weiterbildungsanforderungen

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren, geschätzte Beaufsichtigte Gerne möchten wir Sie über die Weiterbildungsanforderungen der aus- bzw. weiterbildungspflichtigen Personen eines Finanzinstituts (Vermögensverwalter oder Trustee) informieren. In der folgenden Tabelle finden…
News
May 9, 2022

FINMA guidance for portfolio managers and trustees: important next steps

At the end of the year the transitional period for licensing portfolio managers and trustees will come to an end. Institutions that prepare their application now and submit it to…

Bienvenue sur le site d’OSFIN

Voici la nouvelle organisation de surveillance financière.

News :

OSFIN Organisation de surveillance financière a obtenu l’autorisation de la FINMA au sens de la LEFin le 6 juillet 2020.

 

A propos

Un nouvel organisme de surveillance

Les organismes d’autorégulation OAD-FCT et OAR PolyReg ont créé ensemble l’organisation de surveillance OSFIN. La création d’un nouvel organisme de surveillance à l’échelon national s’inscrit dans le cadre des travaux législatifs relatifs aux nouvelles lois sur les établissements financiers LEFin et sur les services financiers LSFin. OSFIN Organisation de surveillance financière a obtenu l’autorisation de la FINMA au sens de la LEFin le 6 juillet 2020.

Assurer une continuité

L’OAR PolyReg et l’OAD-FCT surveillent déjà aujourd’hui, en tant qu’organismes d’autorégulation, environ 1300 intermédiaires financiers dans toute la Suisse, quant au respect des dispositions de la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent. Avec la création de l’OSFIN, une transition en douceur pourra être assurée pour les gestionnaires de fortune et les trustees dans la nouvelle structure de surveillance. Les intermédiaires financiers qui sont soumis à la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent, mais qui ne sont pas soumis aux nouvelles règles de LEFin et LSFin en tant qu’établissement financier, seront en outre toujours surveillés par les organismes d’autorégulation existants.

Les LSFin et LEFin

La LSFin et la LEFin créent des conditions de concurrence uniformes pour les intermédiaires financiers et améliorent la protection des clients. La LSFin contient les règles de comportement que les prestataires de services financiers doivent respecter vis-à-vis de leurs clients. Elle prévoit en outre des obligations en matière de prospectus et exige qu’une feuille d’information de base aisément compréhensible soit établie pour les instruments financiers. Quant à la LEFin, elle uniformise essentiellement la réglementation des autorisations pour les prestataires de services financiers.

Gestionnaires de fortune et des trustees

Les LSFin et LEFin ont notamment pour conséquence que les gestionnaires de fortune ainsi que les trustees doivent être autorisés par la FINMA et surveillés par un organisme de surveillance.

Vous trouverez les documents et détails concernant ces nouvelles lois sur le site internet de la FINMA.

Autorisation

Les gestionnaires de fortune et les trustees doivent obtenir l’autorisation de la FINMA. Les détails sont présentés sur le site internet de celle-ci.

Assujettissement à OSFIN

Une des conditions d’autorisation est l’assujettissement à un organisme de surveillance. Partant, avant de pouvoir procéder à une demande d’autorisation, les gestionnaires de fortune et les trustees doivent s’assujettir à un organisme de surveillance tel que OSFIN.

Les délais transitoires

Des délais transitoires sont prévus par les LSFin et LEFin. Ils dépendent de savoir si le gestionnaire de fortune ou le trustee étaient d’ores et déjà surveillés par un OAR avant le 1er janvier 2020.